disable ads

Politwitter 2010 Year in Review

This page is a summary of the Twitter & social media usage of Canadian politicians during 2010. The usage of Twitter among MPs increased in 2010 over 2009 but the amount of new politicians joining Twitter dropped. Most of the early adoptors had already joined Twitter in 2009.

  • Total MPs joined Twitter in 2010: 157
  • Total MLAs joined Twitter in 2010: 187
  • Total Tweets Indexed in 2010: 17,286,876
  • Total Tweets by Federal MPs in 2010: 576,864
  • Total Tweets by MLAs in 2010: 652,326

Indexed Federal Tweets

Indexed Federal Tweets chart

Top Federal Hash Tags

Top Federal Hash Tags

Tweets indexed each month

tweets each month


MPs Most Viewed Youtube Videos

2083 hits 2037 hits 1883 hits 1501 hits 1391 hits 1102 hits 1068 hits 899 hits 877 hits

MPs Most Viewed Photos

143 hits 142 hits 138 hits 135 hits 134 hits 130 hits 127 hits 126 hits 123 hits 122 hits 121 hits 119 hits 118 hits 115 hits 110 hits

2010 Federal Word Cloud




Most Retweeted Tweets of 2010

Most Tweets Retweeted

  1. 12,803 DenisCoderre
  2. 11,042 Jason Kenney
  3. 8,904 Justin Trudeau, MP
  4. 8,635 Carolyn Bennett MP
  5. 8,409 Elizabeth May

Combined total Retweets

  1. 951,465 Justin Trudeau, MP
  2. 366,301 Stephen Harper
  3. 143,976 Thomas Mulcair
  4. 136,058 Jason Kenney
  5. 105,717 DenisCoderre



Most Retweeted Links of 2010

link title from source first seen
480CNN.com - Breaking News, U.S., World, Weather, Entertainment & Video News@RickAndersoncnn.comOct 28, 2010 6:33 am
241Vidéo et audio - Assemblée nationale du Québec@partiquebecoisassnat.qc.caOct 18, 2010 2:42 pm
236Legislative TV / Audio-Video / Proceedings / The Nova Scotia Legislature@NSNDPnslegislature.caOct 28, 2010 10:03 am
200Liberal Party of Canada@matt-campbellliberal.caNov 10, 2010 5:31 am
183Twibbon.com - Choose Authentication@OntarioGreenstwibbon.comDec 15, 2010 1:10 pm
159The Rosemary Thompson Daily@backstagerosiepaper.liSep 30, 2010 11:15 pm
121News 95.7 Web Radio Player@NSLiberalplayer.rogersradio.caDec 09, 2010 5:45 am
108t.co / Twitter@M_Charpentiert.coOct 18, 2010 9:03 pm
107Liberal Party of Canada@adamgoldenbergliberal.caOct 22, 2010 5:53 am
97Queen's Park Webcast@ontario-press-secretaryontla.on.caNov 02, 2010 7:13 am

Most Retweeted Links of 2010 by Politicians

link title from source first seen
297News, Toronto, GTA, Sports, Business, Entertainment, Canada, World, Breaking...@glen-murraythestar.comOct 24, 2010 5:01 am
74CKNW - Vancouver News Talk Sports Radio AM980@BruceRalstoncknw.comSep 03, 2010 8:47 am
54Remembrance Day Poppy - Support now! - Twibbon.com@Yasir_Naqvitwibbon.comOct 27, 2010 6:49 am
49Parti Qu@daveturcottedons.pq.orgOct 11, 2010 2:44 pm
48The literacy Daily@MLACadieuxpaper.liDec 17, 2010 10:22 am
34Tax Benefits for Families@harindertakharrev.gov.on.caDec 22, 2010 1:17 pm
34Premier’s Award for Excellence in the Arts@Bob_Chiarelliarts.on.caOct 24, 2010 11:11 am
26Yasir Naqvi, MPP - Ottawa - Centre@Yasir_Naqviyasirnaqvimpp.caOct 19, 2010 1:32 pm
26Martine Ouellet, Vachon@martineouelletmartineouellet.orgSep 02, 2010 11:49 am
24Tiny URL - create a shorter link@shirleybondtiny.ccOct 26, 2010 8:18 am



Provincial

Top Provincial Hash Tags

  1. 24073#ableg
  2. 13263#nbvotes
  3. 11967#bcpoli
  4. 6687#HST
  5. 3916#bcleg
  6. 3516#wap
  7. 3445#pq
  8. 3393#pcpo
  9. 3142#onpoli
  10. 3119#nspolitics
Newsletter
user online (109) viewing this page (1)
view mobile version
FEEDBACK & SUGGESTIONS
Processing time: 0.0156 seconds